Keurig K-Classic Review: Should You Buy This Staple Brewer? 2022

keurig k-classic review

In my opinion, the pod based coffee machine will go down as one of the worlds most ingenious creations, with the name Keurig mentioned in the same breath.

The Keurig K-Classic is a play on the original machines that first graced peoples countertops and captured our imagination on what home brewing could be like. But is it a good fit for your particular coffee drinking needs?

Keurig K-Classic
Overall
8.4/10
8.4/10
  • Performance - 8.8/10
    8.8/10
  • Ease of Use/Maintenance - 9.2/10
    9.2/10
  • Build & Quality - 7.8/10
    7.8/10
  • Design & Features - 8.2/10
    8.2/10
  • User Satisfaction - 8.2/10
    8.2/10

Final Verdict

The K-Classic is the final condensed version of the K50, K55 and the classic Keurig 2.0 machines. We like it for exactly what it is: a simple way to brew hot coffee fast, that tastes great, easy to make, and easy to maintain. Not a lot of frills here. Just a nice introduction to home brewing at a decent price.

But the K-Classic may leave you wanting more because of its lack of features you may be used to like the strong brew and its low durability and shelf life.

In this quick straight to the gist Keurig K-Classic review, we answer the question and give our overall rating to help you decide.

Sale
Keurig K-Select
The Keurig K-Classic brews hot no-nonsense coffee fast in 1-2 min, from a 48 oz reservoir, with multiple cup sizes to choose from for a reasonable price.

Last update on 2023-02-03


What we like and don’t like

Pros

Can make 6, 8, 10 oz. single cup of coffee, tea, cocoa
Brews fast (1-2 minutes)
Uses K cup pods (lots of flavors to choose from!)
Will work with My K cup universal reusable coffee filter (so you can use coffee grounds too!)
Good flavor for what you would expect from a Keurig
Can dispense hot water fast
48 oz. removable water reservoir to minimize refilling
User friendly with easy press buttons
Will fit taller mugs (up to 7.1 in.) after removing drip tray
Auto off safety feature
Maintenance reminders – like add water, or descale
Reasonable priced at just over $100

Cons

Not a space saver (10.1 in. wide, 13.3 in. tall, 13.2 in. deep)
Not portable with average weight: 10.6 lbs.
Made of mostly plastic, cheap looking exterior
Not very durable, lots of complaints machine fails within a year or two (but most of those failures may just be clogged piercing needles)
No water filter built in
May require a lot of flushing to remove off odor and taste
May brew a little louder than its newer cousins (but we don’t mind this actually)
No strong brew option
No temperature control
No programmable autostart feature
No extra tech features or digital display
Warranty only good for a year
Not a lot of color options for your kitchen
Doesn’t make specialty drinks

What’s so special about the Keurig K-Classic?

Keurig K-Classic Coffee Maker K-Cup Pod, Single Serve, Programmable, 6 to 10 oz. Brew Sizes, Black

My wife and I have been using Keurig machines for awhile now. It’s not the only coffee machine we own since it serves a particular purpose while other coffee machines serve their purpose. It’s not the most sophisticated or feature rich, but we like the K-Classic because it has the following advantages:

  • K-cup pods
    • Convenient K-cup pods that can be popped in
    • Means easy storing and somewhat fresher coffee vs a bag of pre-ground coffee siting around.
    • Plus its quick and convenient when you don’t have time to grind your beans.
  • Fast brewing
    • Great for busy parents, early risers who have to be someplace fast but need a cup of coffee that can keep up
    • Means you could finally ditch Starbucks and save yourself a lot of money and time waiting in lines!
  • Water reservoir
    • The 48 oz. isn’t the largest Keurig makes but it’s a decent size to make several cups
    • Means less refilling and easy coffee making and maintenance over time
YouTube video

How does it compare?

Keurig K-Classic vs Mixpresso Single Serve

Mixpresso - Single Serve K-Cup Coffee Maker | With 4 Brew Sizes for 1.0 & 2.0 K-Cup Pods | Removable 45oz Water Tank | Quick Brewing with Auto Shut-Off | Rapid Brew Technology (Dark/Gray)

Both the K-Classic and Mixpresso:

  • Will brew a single serving of hot coffee fast using K-cup pods
  • Have a similar size removable water reservoir (45 vs 48 oz)
  • Have 3 cup size options, although the Mixpresso’s largest is 12 oz.

But there are differences:

  • The Mixpresso comes with a reusable coffee filter with the base package unlike the K-Classic
  • The Mixpresso is made of more solid material and BPA free plastic
  • The Mixpresso is slightly cheaper

The Winner?

  • The Mixpresso if you’re looking for an adequate replacement to Keurig machines that gets the job done
  • The K-Classic if you’re a beginner coffee drinker and appreciate brand recognition.

Keurig K-Classic vs Mr. Coffee Iced and Hot

Mr. Coffee Iced and Hot Coffee Maker, Single Serve Machine with 22-Ounce Tumbler and Reusable Coffee Filer, Black

Both the K-Classic and Mr. Coffee Iced and Hot coffee maker:

  • Are single serve coffee brewers that make nice hot coffee
  • Brew 3-4 cup sizes, with the max being 16 oz. for the Mr. Coffee

But the differences:

  • The Mr. Coffee uses only coffee grounds in a reusable filter, no pods
  • The Mr. Coffee is designed to brew iced coffee, a lacking feature in the K-Classic
  • The Mr. Coffee may take a little longer to brew
  • The Mr. Coffee is a lighter in size and on the pocketbook

The winner?

  • Go with the Mr. Coffee if you value flavor and taste on a budget and don’t mind using your own coffee grounds.
  • Pick the Keurig K-Classic if you want a quick cup of coffee with a reservoir so you’re not refilling before each brew

Final Verdict

The Keurig K-Classic is the final condensed version of the K50, K55 and the classic Keurig 2.0 machines. We like it for exactly what it is: a simple way to brew hot coffee fast, that tastes great, easy to make, and easy to maintain. Not a lot of frills here. Just a nice introduction to home brewing at a decent price.

But the K-Classic may leave you wanting more because of its lack of features you may be used to like the strong brew and its low durability and shelf life.

Sale
Keurig K-Select
The Keurig K-Classic brews hot no-nonsense coffee fast in 1-2 min, from a 48 oz reservoir, with multiple cup sizes to choose from for a reasonable price.

Last update on 2023-02-03

For more Keurig coffee makers to consider, check out our reviews on the:

FAQ

Is the K-Classic better than the old Keurig 2.0 machines?

It’s been our experience that most people tend to prefer the older Keurig 2.0 machines over the Keurig K-Classic. The older machines tended to last for years compared to the K-Classic which averages months before failing.
Add on its lack of basic features, and we think if you’re going to stay with Keurig, you’re better off opting for the K-Supreme, K-Elite, or K-Select versions for the extra money to get more value.

Coffee Has Never Read This Good!

Sign up for a FREE newsletter to the best home brewing tips and guides

Thank you for subscribing to The Cup Coffee House Crew! There's a surprise in your Inbox 🙂

Something went wrong.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *